barcodelat.blogg.se

Installing windows on mac without usb
Installing windows on mac without usb




  1. #Installing windows on mac without usb how to#
  2. #Installing windows on mac without usb install#
  3. #Installing windows on mac without usb software#
  4. #Installing windows on mac without usb iso#
  5. #Installing windows on mac without usb windows#

#Installing windows on mac without usb windows#

Follow the Windows graphical installer.Tell rEFIt to boot Windows from the USB drive.Step through the Windows text-mode installer until your system reboots.

#Installing windows on mac without usb install#

  • Start your Mac, holding “c” to boot from the XP install disc.
  • Follow the link, complete steps 1-9, then come back here.
  • Create a modified Windows XP install CD with support for USB installation.
  • It was produced by some serious Windows Wizards and is the core of what we are doing here. Step two is a pretty complex sub-procedure. I used MagicISO (a commercial Windows application sadly).

    #Installing windows on mac without usb iso#

  • A tool for extracting and editing ISO images.
  • A Windows XP install CD (SP1 or higher).
  • rEFIt – A boot manager for EFI computers (like Intel Macs).
  • A USB2 hard drive – I used a Welland “Sun Bright” chassis with a Samsung IDE disk inside.
  • An Intel Macintosh – This procedure was tested on a first generation MacBook.
  • It turns out that it is possible to install Windows to a USB disk without using Bootcamp at all. The brave souls who made this work in the past still needed to re-partition their disk with Bootcamp though, something that wasn’t an option for me. Windows is not supposed to run from an external disk but it has been done before. Sadly, Bootcamp refused to partition my internal disk so I was stuck with no Windows and no San Andreas.Ī ray of hope was the idea of installing Windows onto a blank external disk. Bootcamp and Windows should have had me playing Windows games on the Mac. I stumbled across this solution here in the Apple Support Community and posted about it here a while ago on a German Apple User Forum, if that turns out to be of any use to anybody.OSX can do everything I want from day to day, but occasionally I want to play some San Andreas. Windows should now continue configuring itself and finish the installation.
  • Now you can reboot and boot into your Bootcamp partition with rEFIt, which is no longer of any use from this point on, but you can keep it around as well.
  • Now choose the 'Restore' tab in WinClone and restore this image to your Bootcamp partition.
  • Pull this into an image onto your harddrive.
  • If your virtual drive is mounted, WinClone should be able to see this in the tab 'Image'.
  • Use the virtualization software's features to mount the virtual harddrive.
  • Kill the virtual machine as soon as it reboots the first time after finishing the installation, stopping Windows before being able to configure itself. You can of course install from an ISO here, making the state of your disc drive irrelevant.

    #Installing windows on mac without usb software#

  • Use the virtualization software to install Windows into a virtual machine at the size of your wanted partition (not what you made it above, but a little smaller than that).
  • I did this with VMware back at the time, but all of these should work as long as you're able to mount the virtual harddrive like any removable disk.
  • Install VirtualBox, Parallels or VMware.
  • (On a side note: You can easily uninstall rEFIt by renaming the directory at the root of your harddrive)

    installing windows on mac without usb

    Here you choose the 'Partition Tool', with which you'll change the MBR (Master Boot Record).

    installing windows on mac without usb

    As soon as you see the rEFIt boot menu when starting, it's good.

  • Reboot twice for rEFIt to install properly.
  • Use Disk Utility to create a FAT partition a little larger than your wanted Windows partition.
  • It's also the only option for a Mac that used to have an optical drive but no longer does, since for some reason these devices are no longer able to boot from USB. This might seem like a long shot, but it was also the only option for me to install Windows into my Bootcamp partition a little while back.

    #Installing windows on mac without usb how to#

    It sounds like a plan, but I cant find how to burn a. Maybe I can make a small partition, burn the windows installer to it and boot from that? So, as nothing works, how can I install windows? (It's for gaming purposes). After All of that I've tried windows 7, and this time the bootloader (when I hold the option key) doesn't recognize the usb anymore. After I did that, whenever I restart my macbook, I get an error message saying "No bootable device found" or something like that, and I can only get back to OSX by holding option and selecting it manually. I've also tried formatting this partition as ntfs from inside the windows installer, but it doesn't work also. As soon as I get to the screen in which to select the partition, windows refuses to install, with some error code. I've tried enabling USB burning on bootcamp assistant and codesigning it, and it worked for Windows 8, I could even boot, but couldn't install it on the bootcamp partition. My CD drive is dead (as a matter of facts its ruining any cds I put in it), and I simply cant boot via USB.

    installing windows on mac without usb

    I'm currently trying to install windows on my macbook (13in, 2011), but without any success.






    Installing windows on mac without usb